top of page
  • Writer's pictureLoren Kelly

Will Armitage Ready for Chili Bowl Nationals Debut

Will Armitage has enjoyed success in regional midget racing so far in his career, but his first foray into the National scene comes at by far the biggest race of the year in the division; the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals.


“With this being truly my first time in a national midget, I know I have a lot to learn and very little time to do it.” Armitage said. “With the experience I have at short tracks, I think it will be beneficial while trying to learn the pace of the racing there and how the track develops.”


The Athens, IL native has run micros, D2 midgets, and 305 sprint cars to wins and podiums, but the Chili Bowl offers his first real shot at a national spotlight, and the teenager feels his tutelage under Kent Johnson and others has set him up well for the opportunity.


“After spending a few seasons with Kent’s program, I believe he was able to get me ready to take the next step in my career.” Will said. “Not just for the Chili Bowl, but the outdoor season as well.”


Running the 97A for Pat O’Dell, Armitage is one of almost 400 entries (and nearly 100 rookies) that will take to the Tulsa Expo Raceway in search of the famed “Golden Driller.” A daunting task certainly, but Will believes himself and the team behind him are as well prepared as anyone for the challenge ahead.


“An opportunity doesn’t come like this without someone taking a huge chance on you, and I can’t thank Pat and Debbie enough for that.” Armitage said. “I also can’t forget Mitchell, Aaron, Cody and Austin for helping me when I have questions in the shop, while getting prepared for an event of this magnitude. As well as my sponsors that are coming with me to Tulsa; Armitage Collision Repair, Alliance Community Bank, and Meteer Manufacturing. They have all played a huge role in my career.”


You can follow along with Will’s Chili Bowl debut by purchasing a ticket online at chilibowl.com, a pit pass at the Expo Center, or watching live coverage of the weeklong event on FloRacing. You can find Will Armitage Racing on Facebook at Will Armitage Racing (group), Twitter at @armitage_will7 and on Instagram at @will_armitage_7. You can also follow his PR with Box3 Media on Facebook, @box3_media on Instagram, and @box3_racing on Twitter.


Armitage plans to expand his racing career in 2022 with both regional and national midget races, as well as limited 410 Winged Sprint Car starts. A full 2022 schedule will be released in the coming months.





130 views0 comments

Kommentare


bottom of page